Chicago Panamerican Ensemble, Eykamp String Quartet & Joanne Chang

Music from Mexico, Argentina and Uruguay



Wednesday, November 6
Chicago Public Library, Cindy Pritzker Auditorium

Synopsis, Program & Biography


Chamber music from Mexico, Argentina and Uruguay (from duets, to quartet to septet).  Music by Gutierrez Heras, Moncayo, Ginastera, Piazzolla and Del Aguila.


Music from Mexico, Argentina and Uruguay

Canción en el Puerto- Joaquín Gutierrez Heras

Andrew Snow, cello; Beatriz Helguera, piano

Huapango- José Pablo Moncayo/arr. piano 4 hands by Carlos Islas Arias

Joanne Chang and Beatriz Helguera, piano

Le Grand Tango- Astor Piazzolla

Alan Snow, violin; Joanne Chang, piano

String Quartet No. 1- Alberto Ginastera

Eykamp Quartet: Alan Snow and Jia-Rong Gan, violins; Mark Hatlestad, viola; Graham Cullen, cello

Charango Capriccioso- Miguel Del Aguila

Eykamp String Quartet;  Andrew Snow, cello; Joanne Chang and Beatriz Helguera-Snow, piano

Chicago Panamerican Ensemble – The Chicago Panamerican Ensemble was founded by pianist Beatriz Helguera and cellist Andrew Snow in 2008. The CPE engages some of Chicago’s finest musicians in chamber music repertoire that ranges from Baroque to Contemporary with an emphasis in promoting the work of composers of Latin America.

Eykamp String Quartet  – The Eykamp Quartet, founded by the Eykamp family in 2002, provides classical music performances of artistic excellence and passion and is committed to ensure that both chamber and orchestral music are a vital part of the Evansville community and beyond. The Eykamp String Quartet is formed by the principal string players of the Evansville Philharmonic Orchestra are Artists in Residence at the University of Evansville.