Fulcrum Point New Music Project featuring Javier Alvarez



Sunday, October 28
ADMISSION: $10 / $20

¡Revolución!: Electroacoustic Music from Mexico

Synopsis, Program & Biography


At the Fulcrum Point of clarity and complexity, fixed media and live electronics, composition and improvisation the program celebrates new art music from Mexico. In partnership with The Mexican Center for Electronic Music and the Sonic Arts (CMMAS). This program is made possible by a MacArthur International Connections Grant.


¡Revolución!: Electroacoustic Music from Mexico

Time Wave Zero (2012) – Jorge Sosa (Midwest Premiere)

El Trompo (1994) – Gabriela Ortiz (Midwest Premiere)

Pregunta No.2: Cóndor Amaya (2017) – Luis Fernando Amaya

Plexus (2009) – Arturo Fuentes (Midwest Premiere)

World Premiere (2018) – Javier Álvarez

Audience Interactive app Shortwave.xyz by Joel Corelitz with electronic sounds
contributed by students from Latina Girls Code and The People’s Music School

Stephen Burns, trumpet, Artistic Director
Ian Ding, percussion
Kuang Hao Huang, piano
Chuck Webb, electric bass
Jeremy Ruthrauff, saxophone


Since 1998 Fulcrum Point New Music Project has dedicated itself to the advancement of diverse new music through multi-media performances, educational programs, and the commissioning of innovative works. Winners of the prestigious BMI and ASCAP music awards, Fulcrum Point is internationally recognized for its compelling programming which speaks to our time by engaging a broad spectrum of artforms and artists, including visual art, popular culture, technology and literature. While the organization has grown and changed since inception, the founding mission to find insight into today’s diverse world through significant cross-cultural connections has remained a constant guiding force.