Centro Mexicano para la Música y las Artes Sonoras – 10th Anniversary Concert

Sunday, September 25, 2016, 2:00 pm
Chicago Public Library, Cindy Pritzker Auditorium


Free Concert

Venue Website »

Chicago Public Library, Cindy Pritzker Auditorium
400 S. State St.
Chicago, IL 60605

Venue Map

Concert Program

Curva au Infinito, for piano and electroacustics, 2012
By  Edson Zampronha
Kung-Hao Wang, piano

Viaggio Profondo, video by Paul Hettel, 2016
By Gustavo Leone

Por los Andes, for violin and electronics, 2014
By  Francisco Colasanto
Rika Seko, violin

Vida Lunar, video, 2016
By Rodrigo Sigal

Corson, for trumpet and tape, 2014
By Gustavo Leone
Stephen Burns, trumpet

Julia Miller, electronics

Created in September of 2006 at the initiative of the National Council for Culture and Arts (CONACULTA), and through the National Center for the Arts (CENART) and the Secretariat of Culture of the State of Michoacan (SECUM), the Mexican Center for Music and Sonic Arts (CMMAS) is a unique technological-musical space in Latin America. It is formed by internationally recognized specialists, and has the support of an Academic Committee that gathers several prestigious personalities in the field of musical composition with new technologies. The CMMAS has established itself as the main space in Latin America for the creation,reflection and the teaching and learning of contemporary music, with and without new technologies. It is a unique center for the research, experimentation and the development of sound and musical projects that places Mexico in a privileged place as a link with the rest of the world.

Share this Concert »